Skip to main content

Academy for Excellence in Teaching adds members

Apr. 4, 2013, 9:25 AM

Sixteen new members have been inducted into Vanderbilt University School of Medicine’s Academy for Excellence in Teaching, a group of “best-of-the-best” educators at Vanderbilt University Medical Center.

The newest members include:

• Andrew Bremer, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor of Pediatrics

• Bapsi Chakravarthy, M.D., associate professor of Radiation Oncology

• Nick Desai, M.D., assistant professor of Pediatrics (Adolescent)

• Thomas Doyle, M.D., associate professor of Pediatrics

• Jamie Dwyer, M.D., assistant professor of Medicine (Nephrology)

• Jennifer Green, M.D., MPH, assistant professor of Medicine-Pediatrics

• Andrew Gregory, M.D., associate professor of Orthopaedics, Pediatrics

• Natasha Halasa, M.D., MPH, associate professor of Pediatric Infectious Diseases

• James Johns, M.D., professor of Pediatric Cardiology

• Morgan McDonald, M.D., assistant professor of Medicine

• Don Moore, Ph.D., professor of Medical Education and Administration

• Jennifer Najjar, M.D., associate professor of Pediatrics (Endocrinology)

• Cami Pfennig, M.D., assistant professor of Emergency Medicine

• Mary Romano, M.D., assistant professor of Pediatrics (Adolescent)

• Yu Shyr, Ph.D., professor of Biostatistics

• Jule West, M.D., assistant professor of Internal Medicine

The newest additions, recognized at the Annual Educator Recognition Dinner on April 3, bring the Academy’s total membership to 87.

“The membership committee was certainly impressed by the breadth and depth of educational contributions that were contained in the educator portfolios of these candidates,” said director Lillian Nanney, Ph.D.

Established in 2006, the Academy provides a forum to foster higher levels of participation and promote excellence and scholarship in the delivery of education to health professionals.

Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice