August 22, 2013

New committees appointed to help with strategic planning

Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos has appointed additional faculty to contribute to the campuswide strategic planning effort that an executive committee began over the summer.

Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos (center) will lead an executive committee of faculty to discuss ideas and plan for the future of Vanderbilt. (Daniel Dubois/Vanderbilt)
Two newly appointed faculty committees will contribute to the strategic planning effort currently underway. (Daniel Dubois/Vanderbilt)

Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos has appointed faculty to four steering committees and accompanying academic planning groups that will contribute to the campuswide strategic planning effort. More than 140 faculty will participate in this effort along with the 25-person Executive Committee that was appointed earlier this summer.

The steering committees and planning groups will assist them to focus on four themes outlined by the chancellor during the Spring Faculty Assembly:

  • Launching new trans-institutional programs that strengthen research, graduate and undergraduate programs;
  • Defining the residential research-based undergraduate liberal arts education for the 21st century;
  • Leading technology development for teaching and discovery; and
  • Developing approaches to leveraging leadership in health care innovations.

The Executive Committee, led by co-chairs John Geer in the Department of Political Science and Susan Wente in the Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, met regularly with Zeppos over the summer to formulate key concepts and goals for the strategic plan. In the coming weeks, they will work with the newly appointed faculty to further discuss, analyze and prioritize the best ideas that will shape the future of Vanderbilt.

See the members of the steering committees.

See the members of the academic planning groups.