May 5, 2016

Awards honor dedication to service at VUMC

The most recent Credo Award and Five Pillar Leader Award winners were announced at this week’s Clinical Enterprise Leadership Assembly at Langford Auditorium.

The most recent Credo Award and Five Pillar Leader Award winners were announced at this week’s Clinical Enterprise Leadership Assembly at Langford Auditorium. The awards are conferred on a quarterly basis.

Aaron Hirsch, MSN, R.N., received a Five Pillar Leader Award. (photo by Anne Rayner)

Aaron Hirsch, MSN, R.N., manager of the Urologic Surgery Unit and the Surgical Stepdown units on 9 South and 9 North of Vanderbilt University Hospital, received the Five Pillar Leader Award, given for leadership in service, quality, employee engagement, growth and finance, and innovation.

Roxelyn Baumgartner, M.S., R.N., received a Credo Award. (photo by Anne Rayner)

Hirsch’s nomination letter read, “Aaron is committed to helping manage length of stay, thus helping meet our organizational goals. He was an early adopter of unit-based huddles and has actively engaged in service-specific discharge huddles to facilitate throughput. Aaron regularly attends the daily discharge huddles for the Trauma and Emergency General Surgery services. He then goes back to his units and uses this information to help the team develop and modify plans of care to meet the estimated date of discharge.”

The Credo Award honors staff and faculty who exemplify the Vanderbilt University Medical Center Credo. The latest Credo Award winners are Roxelyn Baumgartner, M.S., R.N., Urologic Surgery; Siraj Beshir, environmental tech, 10 North Trauma; and Vicki Sheppard, senior executive secretary, Perioperative Services.

Siraj Beshir received a Credo Award. (photo by John Russell)

Baumgartner’s nomination read, “She has a heart for patients that is visible in all that she does. That passion for patients translates into visible and tireless activity to be sure patients have exactly what they need; right medication, right knowledge, right plan, and right self-care capability. Roxy’s influence on others consistently ensures that all professionals around the patient work to serve patients first and completely.”

Beshir’s nomination read, “Siraj is an excellent employee, who goes above and beyond each and every day. Recently, I was stopped by a family member who was grateful for Siraj’s kindness to her confused parent. She said Siraj patiently answered the patient’s questions and then went and found the patient’s nurse to ensure the patient was safe and was not a fall risk. Siraj conducts himself professionally, taking ownership in all aspects of his job.”

Vicki Sheppard received a Credo Award. (photo by Joe Howell)

Sheppard’s nomination read, “Vicki Sheppard exemplifies the best of Credo Behavior. She has served Vanderbilt with loyalty and dedication to her role and team for more than 20 years. She unfailingly makes those she serves her highest priority. She serves as an ambassador for the responsibilities of her office and makes sure that the daily administrative operations of the Perioperative Enterprise are flowing smoothly.”

The Elevate Team Award recognizes efforts by two or more people to improve a process, solve a problem or advance organizational culture. The award went to the ICD-10 Transition Team— Debora Bohlen, administrative director, and Theresa Zuckowsky, IT program director.

The ICD-10 Transition Team — Debora Bohlen, left, and Theresa Zuckowsky — received the Elevate Team Award. (photo by Joe Howell)

The ICD-10 Transition Team was charged with implementing the new medical coding system in all clinical areas and training more than 7,000 clinicians and staff in how the ICD-10 coding system works and how it would impact their workflows. The ICD-10 Transition Team ensured VUMC successfully reached its goals and objectives for the transition, on time and within budget.