Skip to main content

Four named to OB-GYN association leadership posts

Jul. 19, 2018, 9:35 AM


Four members of Vanderbilt’s Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology have been named to key leadership positions for several professional organizations.

Ted Anderson, MD, PhD

Ted Anderson, MD, PhD, Betty and Lonnie S. Burnett Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, will be inducted as the 70th president of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) in May 2019. He currently holds the post of president-elect.

“ACOG officers lead the executive board in setting policy in women’s health, responding to national and state issues that impact women’s health as well as working with Congress, the Department of Health and Human Services and the President regarding women’s health,” said Anderson, who is also vice chair of Clinical Operations and Quality. “It is a high-profile position representing 54,000 members, and our activities impact the future of OB-GYN residency training and practice throughout the country as well as serve to represent the United States on an international level through education in developing countries.”

Ronald Alvarez, MD

Ronald Alvarez, MD, Betty and Lonnie S. Burnett Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology and chair of the department, was elected as an at-large member of the American Board of OB/GYN (ABOG). Alvarez was a member of the Division of Gynecology Oncology and later served as director of that division, which placed him on the ABOG Board of Directors.

His post runs from 2018-2024. It recognizes his contribution to the board and women’s health and gives him a voice on setting the standards for certification of specialists and subspecialists in OB-GYN to ensure the highest quality of care for women.

Howard Jones III, MD

Howard Jones, MD, professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, was elected president of the Society of Pelvic Surgeons for 2019.

The international society was established by a group of surgeons in the United States intent on improving surgical training for gynecologists.

Rounding out the department’s recent appointments is Carl Zimmerman, MD, Frances and John C. Burch Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, who was named to lead the Society of Gynecologic Surgeons in 2021. He currently serves as assistant secretary/treasurer and will succeed to president-elect and then president.

Carl Zimmerman, MD

The mission of the Society of Gynecologic Surgeons is to promote excellence in gynecologic surgery through acquisition of knowledge and improvement of skills, advancement of basic and clinical research, and professional and public education.

Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice