Adriana Bialostozky

Consuelo Wilkins, MD, MSCI, far left, John Sergent, MD, MACP, MACR, center, and Kimberly Vinson, MD, far right, with award winners Barrington Hwang, MD, left, Stacey Riddick, Adriana Bialostozky, MD, Sarah Reed and Candace Grisham. (photo by Erin O. Smith)

Levi Watkins Jr. MD Lecture honors contributors to diversity, equity and inclusion

The Levi Watkins Jr. MD Lecture honored the first African American to graduate from Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, and recognized the contributions of several Vanderbilt faculty, trainees and students who have made contributions to diversity, equity and inclusion.

From left are VUMC Chief Diversity Office Andre Churchwell, MD; Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Award honorees Adriana Bialostozky, MD, and Jannyse Starks, DNP, FNP-BC; keynote speaker Phyllis Sharps, PhD, RN; and honoree Tamika Hudson, DNP, APRN, FNP-C; and School of Nursing Dean Linda Norman, DSN, RN.

MLK lecture celebrates diversity, inclusion, equity

The annual Martin Luther King Jr. Commemorative Lecture was held on Monday and for the third year commenced with the United Voices of Vanderbilt choir’s stirring medley of inspirational songs.