Skip to main content

American Liver Foundation honors Karp, Porayko

May. 7, 2015, 10:02 AM

The American Liver Foundation (ALF) honored two Vanderbilt Transplant Center physicians during its annual Flavors of Nashville Gala held recently at the Gaylord Springs Club at Opryland Hotel.

Seth Karp, M.D.

Seth Karp, M.D., chair of the Department of Surgery, director of the Transplant Center and Ingram Professor of Surgical Sciences, was named Transplant Surgeon of the Year, while Michael Porayko, M.D., professor of Medicine, received the Hepatologist of the Year award.

“This is recognition for our entire program, not just for me,” said Karp. “It is in recognition for the outstanding outcomes and volumes we have had over the last few years. “It was given to me, but I see it as a team honor.”

Porayko has been a member of the ALF for about 15 years, working closely with the various educational aspects of the organization.

“The ALF is an organization that has helped shed light on liver disease, liver transplantation and organ donation,” said Porayko, who was honored to be recognized.

Michael Porayko, M.D.

“I also want to acknowledge all those who work behind the scenes to help patients with liver disease who often go unrecognized by the general public. This award reflects their hard work as well.”

The Mid-South Division of the ALF was founded in 2001 to serve the needs of people with liver disease, their families and their health care providers. Estimates show that there are more than 1 million people in Tennessee, Mississippi, Louisiana and Arkansas living with liver disease.
More than 1,600 liver transplants have been performed at Vanderbilt since the program started in 1990.

During 2014, the center recorded the highest number of liver transplantation surgeries, 152.

Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice