Skip to main content

Brown elected Master of the American College of Physicians

Oct. 17, 2019, 8:50 AM


by Doug Campbell

Nancy Brown, MD, Hugh J. Morgan Professor and chair of Vanderbilt’s Department of Medicine, was recently elected a Master of the American College of Physicians.

Nancy Brown, MD

Brown is stepping down from her role as the department’s leader to become dean of the Yale School of Medicine on Feb. 1, 2020.

Master is the highest level attainable in the 152,000-member American College of Physicians (ACP), which is the largest medical specialty organization in the United States.

According to the ACP, election to Mastership recognizes outstanding and significant career accomplishments.

Masters must have made a notable contribution to medicine.

This includes, but is not limited to teaching, outstanding work in clinical medicine (research or practice), contributions to preventive medicine, improvements in the delivery of health care, and/or contributions to the medical literature.

Brown is the latest to join the select group of Vanderbilt physicians who have been elected ACP Masters: Hugh Jackson Morgan, MD (1954); Harrison Shull, MD (1968); John Youmans, MD (1969); Rudolph Kampmeier, MD (1972); F. Tremaine Billings Jr., MD (1974); Grant Liddle, MD (1981); Gottlieb Friesinger II, MD (1996); John Oates, MD (1998); Alexander Townes, MD (2003); William Schaffner, MD (2004); John Sergent, MD (2007); Wayne Riley, MD, MBA, MPH (2009); and Richard Lane, MD, assistant professor of Clinical Medicine (2018).

The ACP is made up of physicians in general internal medicine and related subspecialties, including cardiology, gastroenterology, nephrology, endocrinology, hematology, rheumatology, neurology, pulmonary disease, oncology, infectious disease, allergy and immunology, and geriatrics.

Levels of membership in ACP are Medical Student Member, Associate, Member, Fellow (FACP), Honorary Fellow, and Master (MACP). Throughout the year, highly distinguished Fellows are nominated for Mastership by ACP members and others familiar with their backgrounds.

A select group of these Fellows are then chosen from among the nominees for Mastership by the ACP Awards Committee and approved by the ACP Board of Regents.

Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice