August 14, 2009

Basic science fundraising champs

Featured Image

(photo by Susan Urmy)

Susan Wente, Ph.D., right, presents the “Partners In Health (PIH) Giving Nobel Award” to members of the Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics: from left, Sharron Francis, Ph.D., Jackie Corbin, Ph.D., and Roger Cone, Ph.D., chair of the department.

The award recognizes the basic science department with the highest level of participation in this year’s PIH internal giving campaign for VUMC faculty and staff. Francis and Corbin helped lead the campaign in their department.

Wente, associate vice chancellor for Research and chair of the Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, co-chaired this year’s PIH campaign.

Her department had the highest participation among basic science departments in last year’s campaign and narrowly missed the top position this year.