August 27, 2004

Children’s Hospital honored for safe prescription writing

Featured Image

Michelle M. Becker, Ph.D.

The department of Pharmaceutical Services and the department of Biomedical Informatics at the Monroe Carell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt have won a national award for their work in making medication prescription writing safer and more accurate for pediatric patients.

The Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group has announced that the team from Children’s Hospital has won the 2004 Best Practice Award for their project: “Implementation of Pediatric-Specific Decision Support in a Computerized Provider Order Entry (CPOE) System.”

The development team consisted of Lori Wright, Alison Grisso, Fred Hargrove, Julie Sinclair, and Phillip Stewart of the Department of Pharmacy and Russ Waitman of the department of Biomedical Informatics.

“This is a nice recognition for our Department as well as Biomedical Informatics ,” said David Gregory, director of the Children’s Hospital Pharmacy. “It shows that we are innovative, creative, and are demonstrating leadership in this area.”

The project was judged for innovation, creativity, cost effectiveness, leadership, and significance to pediatric pharmacy practice.

Members of the team will travel to St. Petersburg, Fla. on Oct. 7 where the Best Practice Awards will be presented at the 13th Annual Meeting of the Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group.