May 21, 1999

Class Day honors 28

Class Day honors 28

Twenty-eight students from the graduating medical school class and two faculty members were honored at the annual Class Day for the School of Medicine held Thursday, May 13, in Langford Auditorium.

Four graduates, Sara J. Pieper, Angela J. Peck, Jennifer L. Halpern and Brendan J. Collins were honored with two awards each. Faculty members Dr. Terence S. Dermody and Dr. John L. Tarpley also were honored.

Dermody, associate professor of Pediatrics, was honored with The Geoffrey David Chazen Award. This award for innovation in medical education recognizes a student, resident, fellow or faculty member who has made special contributions to the educational programs of VUSM through the development and implementation of effective innovations in educational approach. Graduating student Karen W. McCreight also received the award.

The School of Medicine Award of Distinction was presented to Peter R. Eby and Chasidy D. Singleton for demonstrating outstanding qualities of leadership and humanitarian service.

The Dean's Award went to two medical school graduates, Erika L. Rager and Sara J. Pieper.

Angela J. Peck and Benjamin N. Carr III were presented the Kaufman Prize in Medicine, given to students who have demonstrated qualities of humaneness, dedication and unselfish service.

The David R. Freedy Memorial Award was given to Hilary A. Petersen, who is currently on a research leave of absence. The award was established to honor the memory of David Richard Freedy, a member of the Class of 1993, who died of cancer. It is given to the student who has demonstrated qualities of leadership, exceptional courage and perseverance in the face of adversity and has been dedicated to improving and promoting community life.

Three students received the Janet M. Glasgow Memorial Achievement Citation, presented in recognition of the accomplishments of female medical students who graduate as honor graduates. It serves to reaffirm the American Medical Women's Association's commitment to encouraging continuing achievement. The recipients were Jennifer L. Halpern, Angela J. Peck and Sara J. Pieper.

The John G. Coniglio Prize in Biochemistry honors accomplishments in biomedical research and was awarded to Richard A. Bucco Jr.

Graduating medical student Juli A. McCay received the John L. Shapiro Award for Excellence in Pathology, which honors the memory of Dr. John L. Shapiro, who was professor and chairman of the department of Pathology from 1956 to 1971.

The Amos Christie Award, which recognizes the student who demonstrates the outstanding qualities of scholarship and humanity embodied in the ideal pediatrician, was presented to Kenneth M. Heym. The award is in memory of Dr. Amos Christie, who was professor and chairman of the department of Pediatrics from 1943 to 1968.

Michael A. Proffitt received the Canby Robinson Society Award. This award is presented to a student who possesses those intangible qualities of common sense, knowledge, thoughtfulness, personal warmth, gentleness and confidence which combine to make the "Ideal Doctor," the person fellow classmates would most like to have as their personal physician.

The Hospital Award of Excellence, which recognizes the fourth-year medical student who has contributed the most toward excellent patient care by demonstrating sensitivity, compassion and concern in clinical responsibilities, was given to Brendan J. Collins. This award is voted on by the chief residents of all the services.

The Award for Excellence in Emergency Medicine, given on behalf of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine, was presented to Judd L. Glasser. The award recognizes outstanding clinical performance in the Emergency Department at VUMC.

Ralph J. Groves received the Tennessee Academy of Family Physicians Award, given to a graduating medical student in recognition of dedication to the high ideals of family practice.

Two students were honored with the Albert Weinstein Prize in Medicine. Established in memory of Dr. Albert Weinstein, the award is given to the student who has demonstrated high scholastic attainment and qualities, which characterize the fine physician. The award was shared by Daus Mahnke and Dmitry P. Nemirovsky.

The Rudolph H. Kampmeier Prize in Medicine was awarded to Jennifer L. Halpern. The award is presented by the department of Medicine to the student who is judged by the faculty to have exhibited the qualities of the excellent physician as exemplified by Dr. Kampmeier throughout his career.

Brendan J. Collins received the Surgical Clerkship Award, presented by the Section of Surgical Sciences to a student who has shown superior performance in the third-year surgical clerkship and who plans to enter graduate education in surgery.

The H. William Scott Jr. Prize in Surgery was given to Eric L. Grogan. This award is presented to the graduating medical student who exemplifies the qualities of leadership, performance and character reflecting the ideal surgeon.

The Beauchamp Scholarship, which is endowed and awarded to the student showing the greatest progress in the field of psychiatry, was presented to Rudolph A. Agosti.

Michele D. Spring received the Merck Award for Excellence in Infectious Diseases, presented annually by the divisions of Infectious Diseases in the departments of Medicine and Pediatrics to the student who has demonstrated outstanding aptitude and performance in clinical and investigative efforts in infectious diseases or microbiology.

The Orthopaedic Surgery Clerkship Award was presented to Ronald E. Glenn Jr. The award is given by the department of Orthopaedic Surgery to the student who has excelled in both the third- and fourth-year orthopaedic clerkships and who has demonstrated outstanding potential in the field.

The Tom Nesbitt Award is presented by the Nashville Academy of Medicine and Davidson County Medical Society in recognition of the service and contribution of Dr. Tom Nesbitt as a member and 133rd president of the American Medical Association. Dr. Nesbitt is an assistant clinical professor of Urology. The award is given to the graduating medical student who demonstrates exemplary character and leadership. The recipient this year was Elizabeth P. Cartwright.

The Endocrine Society Award for Excellence in Clinical Endocrinology was awarded to David H. Wang. The award is presented annually by the Division of Endocrinology and Diabetes to the graduating medical student who demonstrates outstanding performance in clinical endocrinology.

The Lonnie S. Burnett Award in Obstetrics and Gynecology was given to Jason W. Pollock. The award is given to the student demonstrating superior performance and who exemplifies the qualities of dedication, leadership, compassion and integrity in the field of obstetrics and gynecology.

Jon C. Tilburt was awarded the Dixon N. Burns Award in Medical Ethics. This award is given by the Center for Clinical and Research Ethics to the graduating medical student who has, through a written essay, demonstrated unusual ability in identifying and analyzing ethical issues.

Steven E. Rodgers received the Paula C. Hoos Award. The Class of 2002 presents this award in recognition of teaching excellence in the anatomy laboratory and to express its appreciation for the assistance of members of the graduating class.

And in a new award presentation, a graduating student and a faculty member received Healthcare Foundation of New Jersey Humanism in Medicine Awards, awarded to those who demonstrate compassion and empathy in the delivery of health care. Student Erik E. Penner and Dr. John L. Tarpley, professor of Surgery, received the award.