March 30, 2001

Doctors recognized by honor societies

Two of the nation’s oldest and most respected medical honor societies, the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the Association of American Physicians, will induct six Vanderbilt physician-scientists in April.

“Election on these national societies reflects very well on Vanderbilt and on the faculty who have been recognized for their research and academic accomplishments as physician-scientists,” said Dr. Eric G. Nielson, Hugh Jackson Morgan Professor and Chair of Medicine. “Such honors are further testament to the superb quality of people and laboratories we have at this institution.”

The following faculty will be inducted into these prestigious organizations during a joint meeting scheduled for April 27-29 in Chicago.

ASCI members are:

• Dr. Macrae F. Linton, associate professor of Medicine and Pharmacology.

• Dr. Sergio Fazio, associate professor of Medicine and Pathology.

• Dr. Jeffrey R. Balser, associate dean for Physician-Scientist Development, James Taloe Gwathmy Clinician-Scientist Chair, associate professor of Anesthesiology and Pharmacology.

• Dr. R. Daniel Beauchamp, John L. Sawyers Chair in Surgery, professor of Surgery and Cell Biology.

AAP members include:

• Dr. Alfred L. George Jr., Grant W. Liddle Professor of Medicine, professor of Medicine and associate professor of Pharmacology.

• Dr. L. Jackson Roberts II, professor of Pharmacology and Medicine.

The ASCI, founded in 1908, has 2,600 physician-scientist members. Members are chosen based on their records of scholarly achievement in biomedical research.

The AAP was established in 1885 for the advancement of scientific and practical medicine. Members are recognized for their pursuit of medical knowledge and the advancement through experimentation and discovery of basic and clinical science and its application to clinical medicine.