May 23, 2003

Faculty Advisory Council elects leaders

Featured Image

The newly constituted Faculty Advisory Council recently held its first meeting and elected its leadership. Dr. Jason Morrow (Department of Medicine) was elected chair and Dr. Frank Boehm (Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology) was elected vice chair.

“I look forward to working with the new Faculty Advisory Council and its Executive Committee in developing an effective communication link for faculty and a means for faculty to be actively involved in important institutional decisions,” said Dr. Steven G. Gabbe, dean of the School of Medicine.

The other members of the Executive Committee of the Faculty Advisory Council are Dr. Gordon Bernard (Department of Medicine), Al Beth, Ph.D. (Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics), Ronald Emeson, Ph.D. (Department of Pharmacology), and Dr. Kevin Johnson (Department of Biomedical Informatics).

The other members of the Faculty Advisory Council and their departments are Dr. John D’Alessio (Anesthesiology); David Ong, Ph.D. (Biochemistry); Dr. Josiane Eid (Cancer Biology); Chris Hardy, Ph.D. (Cell & Developmental Biology); Dr. Robin Hemphill (Emergency Medicine); Lee Ann Golper, Ph.D. (Hearing & Speech Sciences); Dr. Tom Elasy (Medicine); Christopher Aiken, Ph.D. (Microbiology & Immunology); Dr. Howard Kirshner (Neurology); John Penn, Ph.D. (Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences); Dr. Herbert Schwartz (Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation); Dr. Gaelyn Garrett (Otolaryngology); Jeffrey Davidson, Ph.D. (Pathology); Dr. Kevin Churchwell (Pediatrics); Dr. Joe Gigante (Pediatrics); Bonnie LaFleur, M.P.H., Ph.D. (Preventive Medicine); Ariel Deutch, Ph.D. (Psychiatry); Dr. Robert Kessler (Radiology and Radiological Sciences); Michael Freeman, Ph.D. (Radiation Oncology); Dr. Kelly Wright (Surgery); and Dr. Ronald Barton (Surgical Specialties).