January 28, 2005

Faculty awards nominations sought

Featured Image

Jorge Capdevila, Ph.D.

2005 Faculty Research Awards

Nominations are being sought for Vanderbilt University Medical Center's 2005 Faculty Research Awards.

The deadline for nominations is Feb. 18. Award recipients will be announced at the Spring Faculty Meeting on May 3.

Award categories are:

• Stanley Cohen Faculty Research Award – for research bringing diverse disciplines, such as chemistry or physics, to solve biology's most important fundamental problems;

• Charles R. Park Faculty Research Award – for basic research findings that reveal insights into physiology and pathophysiology;

• William Darby Faculty Research Award – for translational research that provides significant advances in medical practice or health care services;

• Grant W. Liddle Faculty Research Award – for excellence in clinical research;

• Sidney P. Colowick Faculty Research Award – for excellence in research that serves as a platform for discovery in diverse research areas;

• Ernest William Goodpasture Faculty Research Award – for an individual who has performed groundbreaking research on the pathogenesis of infectious diseases or biological problems in immunity;

• John H. Exton Research Award – for research leading to innovative biological concepts.

The nomination package should include a nominating letter from a faculty member, curriculum vitae of the candidate, and three manuscripts representing the most significant work of the candidate. Please indicate clearly the award category for which you intend to nominate the individual.

Nominations are due by Feb. 18 to Cindy Sircy in MCN CCC-3322. Call 343-0729 for more information.

2005 Faculty Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Vanderbilt University School of Medicine is requesting nominations for the 2005 Faculty Awards for Excellence in Teaching.

The nominations deadline is Monday, Feb. 15. Award winners will be announced at the Spring Faculty Meeting scheduled to be held on May 3.

Award recipients are nominated by the faculty and selected by committees of former honorees.

The recipients of these honors receive a replica of the original entrance to the School of Medicine, listing on a permanent plaque in Light Hall and a cash award.

The categories of teaching to be recognized are:

• Mentoring graduate and/or medical students in the research setting;

• Mentoring postdoctoral fellows and/or residents in the research setting;

• Teaching medical or graduate students or practicing physicians in the lecture setting;

• Teaching medical or graduate students or practicing physicians in a small group setting;

• Teaching medical students, residents, and/or fellows in the clinical setting;

• Contributions to Continuing Medical Education;

• Innovation in educational programming that has proven to be effective.

Nominations should include a letter that clearly indicates the category of teaching for which the individual is nominated and describes the basis for the nomination.

The Faculty Affairs Office will request an up-to-date curriculum vitae from the nominee and may solicit additional letters from colleagues or trainees.

Nominations should be submitted to the Office of the Senior Associate Dean for Faculty and Academic Administrative Affairs, Light Hall Room 320.