April 27, 2007

Faculty honored for teaching, research

Featured Image

Yuxiang Zheng, right, discusses her poster with fellow graduate student Juan Xing at last week’s Student-Invited Pharmacology Forum. (photo by Susan Urmy)

The 2007 Faculty Awards, presented at Tuesday's Spring Faculty Meeting, recognize excellence in teaching and in research.

They are given by the faculty to their fellow faculty members. The individual awards for Excellence in Teaching in the School of Medicine are named in honor of faculty who exemplify the specifics of the award. The awards for Outstanding Contributions to Research are named in honor of current and past Vanderbilt faculty who were recognized during their careers by election to the National Academy of Sciences.

Excellence in Teaching

School of Medicine

Elaine Sanders-Bush Award — Mentoring Graduate and/or Medical Students in the Research Setting

Joey Barnett, Ph.D., associate professor of Pharmachology, Medicine and Microbiology and Immunology

F. Peter Guengerich Award — Mentoring Postdoctoral Fellows or Residents in the Research Setting

James Crowe Jr., M.D., professor of Pediatrics, Microbiology and Immunology, Ingram Professor of Cancer Research

Robert D. Collins Award — Teaching Medical and/or Graduate Students in the Lecture Setting

Terence Dermody, M.D., director, Elizabeth Lamb Center for Pediatrics Research and the Vanderbilt Medical Scientist Training Program; professor of Pediatrics

Gerald S. Gotterer Award — Innovation in Educational Programming that has Proven Effective

Denis O'Day, M.D., professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences; and Gerald Gotterer, M.D., Ph.D., senior associate dean for Faculty and Academic Administrative Affairs

Frank H. Boehm Award — Contributions to Continuing Medical Education

Robert Ossoff, M.D., D.M.D., chair of the Department of Otolaryngology

John S. Sergent Award — Teaching Medical or Graduate Students in the Small Group Setting

Cathleen Pettepher, Ph.D., professor of Cancer Biology and Cell and Developmental Biology

R. Michael Rodriguez Award — Teaching Medical Students, Residents and/or Fellows in the Clinical Setting

William Walsh, M.D., professor of Pediatrics

School of Nursing

Teaching in the Small Group Setting

Roberta Bradley, M.S.N., R.N., assistant professor of Nursing

Excellence in Clinical Teaching

Sarah Fogel, Ph.D., R.N., assistant professor of Nursing

Educational Innovation — Group Award

Thomas Christenbery, Ph.D., R.N., assistant professor of Nursing

Terri Crutcher, M.S.N., R.N., assistant professor of Clinical Nursing

Pam Jones, M.S.N., R.N., assistant dean; assistant professor of Clinical Nursing

Susan Newbold, Ph.D., R.N., lecturer in Nursing

Bonnie Pilon, D.S.N., R.N., senior associate dean; director, Health Systems Management Program

Cynthia Waller, M.S.N., R.N., instructor in Clinical Nursing



to Research

Stanley Cohen Award — For Research Bridging Diverse Disciplines, such as Chemistry or Physics, to Solve Biology's Most Important Fundamental Questions

Walter Chazin, Ph.D., professor of Biochemistry, Chemistry; Ingram Professor of Cancer Research; director, Center for Structural Biology

Sidney P. Colowick Award — For Research that Serves as a Platform for Discovery in Diverse Areas

Daniel Liebler, Ph.D., professor of Biochemistry, Pharmacology and Bioinformatics; director, Jim Ayers Institute for Precancer Detection and Diagnosis

William J. Darby Award — For Translational Research that has Changed the Practice of Medicine Worldwide

Gordon Bernard, M.D., assistant vice chancellor for Research; professor of Medicine, Division of Allergy, Pulmonary and Critical Care

John H. Exton Award — For Research Leading to Innovative Biological Concepts

Louis De Felice, Ph.D., professor of Pharmacology and Neuroscience

Ernest W. Goodpasture Award — For Groundbreaking Research That Addresses the Pathogenesis of Infectious Diseases or Important Biological Problems in Immunity

James Crowe Jr., M.D., professor of Pediatrics, Microbiology and Immunology; Ingram Professor of Cancer Research

Grant W. Liddle Award — For Outstanding Contributions in Clinical Research

Marie Griffin, M.D., M.P.H., professor of Medicine, Preventive Medicine

Charles R. Park Award — For Basic Research Revealing Insights into Physiology and Pathophysiology

P. Jeffrey Conn, Ph.D., professor of Pharmacology; director, Program in Translational Neuropharmacology; director, Vanderbilt Institute of Chemical Biology Drug Discovery Program