April 7, 2006

Faculty honored for teaching, research

Featured Image

T. Mark Hodges

Faculty honored for teaching, research

The 2006 Faculty Awards, presented at Tuesday’s Spring Faculty Meeting, recognize excellence in teaching and in research.

They are given by the faculty to their fellow faculty members. The individual awards for Outstanding Contributions to Research are named in honor of current and past Vanderbilt faculty, who were recognized during their careers by election to the National Academy of Sciences.


School of Medicine

Mentoring Postdoctoral Fellows or Residents in the Research Setting

Graham Carpenter, Ph.D., professor of Biochemistry and Medicine

Teaching Medical or Graduate Students in the Lecture Setting

Joyce Johnson, M.D., associate professor of Pathology

Teaching Medical or Graduate Students in the Small Group Setting

Kimberly Lomis, M.D., assistant professor of Surgery

Teaching Medical Students, Residents and/or Fellows in the Clinical Setting

John Sergent, M.D., professor of Medicine, vice chair for Education

Contribution to Continuing Medical Education

Jayant Shenai, M.D., professor of Pediatrics

Innovation in Educational Programming That Has Proven To Be Effective

Anderson Spickard III, M.D., assistant professor of Medicine, Biomedical Informatics

Mentoring Graduate and/or Medical Students in the Research Setting

Peter Anthony Weil, Ph.D., professor of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics

School of Nursing

Educational Innovation

Maria Overstreet, M.S.N., R.N., assistant professor of Nursing

Teaching in the Small Group Setting

Barbara Petersen, R.N., C.M.N., associate professor of Nursing

Teaching in a Clinical Setting

Jennifer Scroggie, M.S.N., A.P.R.N., assistant professor of Psychiatry, Clinical Nursing




Stanley Cohen Award — For Research Bridging Diverse Disciplines, such as Chemistry or Physics, to Solve Biology’s Most Important Fundamental Questions

Jason Morrow, M.D., F. Tremaine Billings Professor of Medicine, Pharmacology, director of Clinical Pharmacology, director of the Center for Pharmacology and Drug Toxicology

Sidney P. Colowick Award — For Research that Serves as a Platform for Discovery in Diverse Areas

Mark Magnuson, M.D., Earl W. Sutherland Jr. Professor of Molecular Physoiology and Biophysics, director of the Center for Stem Cell Biology

John H. Exton Award — For Research Leading to Innovative Biological Concepts

Derya Unutmaz, M.D., associate professor of Microbiology and Immunology

Ernest W. Goodpasture Award — For Groundbreaking Research That Addresses the Pathogenesis of Infectious Diseases or Important Biological Problems in Immunity

Terence Dermody, M.D., professor of Pediatrics, Microbiology and Immunology, director of the Elizabeth Lamb Center for Pediatric Research, director of the Vanderbilt Medical Scientist Training Program

Grant W. Liddle Award — For Outstanding Contributions in Clinical Research

Peter Wright, M.D., Shedd Professor of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, Pediatrics, Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology, director of Pediatric Infectious Diseases

Charles R. Park Award — For Basic Research Revealing Insights into Physiology and Pathophysiology

Albert Reynolds, Ph.D., professor of Cancer Biology

William J. Darby Award — For Translational Research That has Changed the Practice of Medicine Worldwide

John Penn, Ph.D., professor, vice chair and director of research, Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences