May 2, 2008

Faculty honored for teaching, research

Featured Image

The 2008 Faculty Awards, presented at last week’s Spring Faculty Meeting, recognize excellence in teaching and in research.

They are given by the faculty to their fellow faculty members. The individual awards for Excellence in Teaching in the School of Medicine are named in honor of faculty who exemplify the specifics of the award. The awards for Outstanding Contributions to Research are named in honor of current and past Vanderbilt faculty who were recognized during their careers by election to the National Academy of Sciences.

Excellence in Teaching

School of Medicine

Frank H. Boehm Award — Contributions to Continuing Medical Education

Gerald Hickson, M.D., associate dean for Clinical Affairs and director of the Center for Patient and Professional Advocacy; and James Pichert, Ph.D., professor of Medical Education and Administration

Robert D. Collins Award — Teaching Medical and/or Graduate Students in the Lecture Setting

William Schaffner, M.D., chair of Preventive Medicine

Gerald S. Gotterer Award — Innovation in Educational Programming that has Proven Effective

Charles Coffey II, Ph.D., professor of Radiation Oncology

F. Peter Guengerich Award — Mentoring Postdoctoral Fellows or Residents in the Research Setting

John Gore, Ph.D., director of the Institute of Imaging Science

R. Michael Rodriguez Award — Teaching Medical Students, Residents and/or Fellows in the Clinical Setting

Satish Raj, M.D., assistant professor of Medicine and Pharmacology; and Jeffery Dattilo, M.D., assistant professor of Surgery

Elaine Sanders-Bush Award — Mentoring Graduate and/or Medical Students in the Research Setting

Nancy Brown, M.D., associate dean for Clinical and Translational Scientist Development

John S. Sergent Award — Teaching Medical or Graduate Students in the Small Group Setting

Ban Mishu Allos, M.D., assistant professor of Medicine and Preventive Medicine

School of Nursing

Excellence in Clinical Teaching

Terri Donaldson, D.N.P., R.N., assistant professor of Nursing

Educational Innovation

Leslie Welch Hopkins, M.S.N., assistant professor of Nursing

Teaching in the Small Group Setting

Julie Rosof-Williams, M.S.N., instructor in Nursing



to Research

Stanley Cohen Award — For Research Bridging Diverse Disciplines, such as Chemistry or Physics, to Solve Biology's Most Important Fundamental Questions

Naji Abumrad, M.D., chair of Surgery

John H. Exton Award — For Research Leading to Innovative Biological Concepts

Susan Wente, Ph.D., chair of Cell and Developmental Biology

Grant W. Liddle Award — For Outstanding Contributions in Clinical Research

Herbert Meltzer, M.D., director of the Division of Psychopharmacology

Charles R. Park Award — For Basic Research Revealing Insights into Physiology and Pathophysiology

Sebastian Joyce, Ph.D., professor of Microbiology and Immunology