December 21, 2001

Faculty members honored in 2001

Featured Image

Dr. C. Wright Pinson

Several Vanderbilt faculty members received honors in 2001. Among them:

•Dr. John H. Exton, professor of Molecular Physiology & Biophysics and Pharmacology, and Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, became the fifth Vanderbilt faculty member elected to the prestigious National Academy of Sciences. The Academy, a private non-profit society of scientists and engineers established by the U.S. Congress in 1863, elected 72 American members and 15 foreign associates on May 1 “in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.”

•Brigid L.M. Hogan, Ph.D., Hortense B. Ingram Professor of Molecular Oncology and Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, joined the ranks of the Royal Society, the world’s oldest scientific academy. Past honorees include: Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein, Dorothy Hodgkin, Francis Crick, and James Watson. Fellowship of the Royal Society is recognized worldwide as a sign of the highest regard in science. This year, Hogan was also elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

•Bonnie Pilon, DSN, RN, senior associate dean for Practice at the School of Nursing, was inducted into the American Academy of Nursing.

•Lawrence J. Marnett, Ph.D., was named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Marnett, Mary Geddes Stahlman Professor of Cancer Research and professor of Biochemistry and Chemistry, was honored for his contributions to the field of lipid oxidation-the chemical reactions involving oxygen and fatty molecules in cells.