May 3, 2002

Forum honors researchers, instructors

Featured Image

Martin Luther King students designed the templates to allow patients at Vanderbilt Children’s Hospital to easily create personal Web sites.

The 20th Annual Research Forum was held last week to highlight outstanding achievement in research and instruction as part of the graduate medical education program at VUMC. The event featured oral presentations on research conducted by current house staff (residents and clinical fellows) and medical students, followed by a number of award presentations.

The Research Forum is organized by the House Staff Advisory Council to bring recognition to those peers active in clinical or basic research and to show appreciation for the physicians and scientists who serve as mentors.

From a field of 27 submissions, a faculty review committee selected six research abstracts for oral presentation. Prior to the oral presentations, the faculty committee members visited each of the additional 21 poster presentations and discussed the research with the authors. The award for best poster presentation went to Dr. Michelle S. C. Khoo, cardiology clinical fellow in Dr. Mark E. Anderson’s laboratory.

The Elliot V. Newman Prize was awarded to Dr. Alan Q. Thomas, clinical fellow in the division of Allergy, Pulmonary, and Critical Care working in the laboratory of Dr. James E. Loyd. This $500 award is given to the medical student or house officer whose research is judged most meritorious by the review committee.

Dr. John A. Zic, assistant professor of Medicine in the division of Dermatology, was honored with the Grant W. Liddle Award for exemplary leadership in the promotion of scientific research.

Teaching awards voted on by third- and fourth-year medical students and presented at the Forum include:

• Brittingham Teaching Award —Dr. John Tarpley, professor of Surgery

• Hillman Teaching Award – Dr. William Bradley Boyd, Medicine and Pediatrics

• Davies Teaching Award — Dr. Alice Coogan, associate professor of Pathology

• House Staff Teaching Awards —Dr. Paul Wise, General Surgery; Dr. Elizabeth Ann Stack, Medicine; Dr. Joseph Anthony Craft, Medicine; Dr. Peter Swarr, Medicine and Pediatrics

The Research Forum was co-chaired by Dr. Julissa Corredor and Dr. Luis Destarac and was moderated by Dr. Kathy Edwards, last year’s recipient of the Grant W. Liddle Award. Members of the voluntary review committee included Dr. Timothy Blackwell, Dr. Marie Griffin, Dr. David Polk, Dr. James Thomas, Lynn Walker, Ph.D., and Dr. Kay Washington.