March 10, 2000

Johnson elected to national oncology society’s board

Featured Image

Nurse Practitioner Beth Colvin Huff demonstrates the new method for obtaining and evaluating Pap smears. (photo by Dana Johnson)

Dr. David H. Johnson, deputy director of the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, has been elected to a three-year term on the board of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), the organization recently announced.

His board term will begin in May.

Johnson is Cornelius Abernathy Craig Professor of Oncology and director of the division of Hematology-Oncology. A member of ASCO since 1983, Johnson is current chair of ASCO's program committee. His past activities with the organization include membership on the educational, bylaws and program committees. He served as chair of the bylaws committee in 1998-99, the lung cancer program subcommittee in 1995 and vice-chair of program committee in 1999.

Johnson's other national oncology-related activities include chairing the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group's thoracic oncology committee, membership on the National Cancer Institute's clinical trials program review group and clinical trials implementation committee and the Food and Drug Administration's oncology drug advisory committee.

ASCO is the world's leading professional society representing physicians from 95 countries who treat people with cancer.