March 28, 2003

Johnson to lead ASCO

Featured Image

Johnson to lead ASCO

Dr. David H. Johnson, deputy director of the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center and a noted lung cancer specialist, will become president-elect of the American Society of Clinical Oncology on June 1.

Johnson, Cornelius Abernathy Craig Professor in Medical Oncology and director of the division of Hematology-Oncology, will serve as president-elect for one year and then succeed Dr. Margaret A. Tempero of the University of California-San Francisco as president in 2004.

“ASCO has benefited from David Johnson’s expertise and his no-nonsense approach for many years as he has served in a number of capacities,” said Dr. Harold L. Moses, director of the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center. “As president-elect and as president, his leadership will benefit not only this important organization but the entire field of cancer treatment and the patients and families affected by a cancer diagnosis. It is also a great honor for the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center to be represented at this level in the world’s leading professional society representing medical professionals of all specialties who treat people with cancer.”

Johnson joined the Vanderbilt Medical School faculty in 1983, after completing a fellowship in medical oncology. He was named professor of Medicine and director of the division of Medical Oncology in 1991 and assumed directorship of a newly created combined division of Hematology and Oncology in 1998.

“David brings a wealth of experience as an oncologist and scientist to this important national position,” said Dr. Eric G. Neilson, Hugh J. Morgan Professor and Chairman of the Department of Medicine. “We are all proud of David’s contribution to cancer medicine and the future promise of this opportunity.”

Johnson earned his medical degree from the Medical College of Georgia and completed a residency in internal medicine at South Alabama University Medical Center.

A member of ASCO since 1983, Johnson has served ASCO in a variety of capacities. He is currently a member of the board of directors and the chair-elect of the Public Issues Committee. His past ASCO activities include participation on the Program Committee (Lung Cancer Subcommittee Chair, 1995; Vice Chair, 1998-1999; and Chair, 1999-2000), Bylaws Committee (1995-1999; Chair, 1998-1999; Board Liaison, 2002-2003), and Cancer Education Committee (1995-1998). He also served on the Advanced Lung Cancer Practice Guidelines Development Committee (1997). He is the editor of the ASCO Annual Meeting Summaries and served two terms on the Editorial Board of the Journal of Clinical Oncology.

In addition to his ASCO activities, Johnson has served on a number of national committees related to patient care, education, and research, including the NCI Clinical Trials Program Review Group, the NCI Clinical Trials Implementation Committee, the NCI Lung Cancer Progress Review Group, the NCI Clinical Oncology Study Section, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration Oncologic Drug Advisory Committee, the American Board of Internal Medicine Subspecialty Certification Board on Medical Oncology, and the American College of Physicians MKSAP-II Oncology Committee. He also served as chair of the Thoracic Oncology Committee of the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) from 1998 to 2003.

Johnson is a member of several editorial advisory boards, including those of the Journal of the National Cancer Institute; Clinical Cancer Research; International Journal of Radiation Oncology, Biology, and Physics; Yearbook of Oncology; Current Oncology Reports; Oncology: International Journal of Cancer Research and Treatment; and Clinical Lung Cancer.

Johnson’s research interests include the management of thoracic malignancies and experimental therapeutics. He also has a research interest in the biology and treatment of breast cancers, neuroendocrine tumors, and cancers of unknown primary.

In 1992, he received the ECOG Young Investigator Award for his clinical research work in lung cancer, and in 1997 he was recognized by the Alliance for Lung Cancer Advocacy, Support, and Education for his work in the multimodality treatment of thoracic malignancies.

More recently, Johnson received a five-year unrestricted grant from the Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation for support of ongoing translational studies in lung cancer.

He is a member of that foundation’s Selection Committee for its prestigious Cancer Award. He is co-principal investigator of the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center’s Lung Cancer Specialized Program of Research Excellence (SPORE) grant.