December 4, 2009

Nominations sought for VUSM Faculty Awards

Nominations are being sought for the 2010 School of Medicine Academic Enterprise Faculty Awards in both Research and Teaching.

Award recipients are nominated by their faculty colleagues and selected by the VUSM Awards Committee.

The nomination package should include a minimum of three supporting letters from colleagues, fellows, residents or students and a current curriculum vitae.

The deadline for nominations is Jan. 14, 2010. Nominations should be submitted electronically, as a PDF file, to VUSM's Office of the Dean, in care of Yvette Casey at

The categories of recognition are listed below:

Research Awards:

• Stanley Cohen Faculty Research Award — for research bringing diverse disciplines, such as chemistry or physics, to solve biology's most important fundamental problems

• Charles R. Park Faculty Research Award — for basic research findings that reveal insights into physiology and pathophysiology

• Grant W. Liddle Faculty Research Award — for excellence in clinical research

• John H. Exton Research Award — for research leading to innovative biological concepts

Teaching Awards:

• Elaine Sanders-Bush Award — Mentoring graduate and/or medical students in the research setting

• Robert D. Collins Award — Teaching medical or graduate students or practicing physicians in the lecture setting

• R. Michael Rodriguez Award — Teaching medical students, residents and/or fellows in the clinical setting

In addition, a new teaching award will be given for teaching graduate students and postdoctoral fellows in the classroom, lecture or small group setting. This award is not yet named.

Award recipients will be announced at the 2010 Spring Faculty Meeting.