March 4, 2005

Pathology academy honors Collins, Page at annual meet

Featured Image

Robert Collins, M.D.

Pathology academy honors Collins, Page at annual meet

David Page, M.D.

David Page, M.D.

Two of Vanderbilt University Medical Center's most eminent pathologists were honored by the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology (USCAP) at its annual meeting in San Antonio, Texas, Feb. 26-March 4.

Robert Collins, M.D., John L. Shapiro Professor of Pathology, received the Distinguished Pathologist Award at the society's annual meeting on Tuesday, March 1. The award recognizes Collins for distinguished service and major contributions to the discipline of pathology.

Collins, along with collaborator Robert J. Lukes, developed one of the first classification systems for lymphomas — the Lukes/Collins system — which discriminates malignant lymphomas according to their cell of origin (B-cell or T-cell types). Collins' studies confirmed that lymphomas obey the same rules as other types of cancer. Collins and colleagues were also among the first to describe follicular lymphomas, splenic and nodal marginal zone lymphomas, peripheral T-cell lymphomas and anaplastic large cell lymphomas.

In addition to his research and clinical accomplishments, Collins authored the book “Ernest William Goodpasture: Scientist, Scholar, Gentleman,” a biography of Ernest Goodpasture, one of Vanderbilt's most noted scientists and an early head of the Department of Pathology.

Also at the meeting, David Page, M.D., professor of Pathology and Preventive Medicine, presented the 48th Maude Abbott Lecture entitled “The surgical pathologist and the history of breast disease.”

Page's contributions to developing diagnostic criteria for breast cancer have revolutionized breast cancer risk assessment.

Page conducted a landmark study of more than 10,000 breast biopsies, concluding that women with fibrocystic breast changes do not have increased risks of breast cancer as had long been presumed. His contributions have been recognized by numerous awards and honors, including a Komen Foundation Award for Scientific Distinction in 1999.

“Dr. Collins and Dr. Page have established themselves as giants in pathology,” said Samuel Santoro, M.D., Ph.D., Dorothy B. and Theodore R. Austin Professor of Pathology and chair of the department.

“Both were important teachers and mentors for me during my student days here at Vanderbilt.”

“Their work over the years has revolutionized our thinking about hematologic neoplasms and about breast cancer and has allowed others to follow in their footsteps. It is especially gratifying to me to see them honored by the USCAP.”

In recognition of their contributions to the Pathology department, noted Santoro, fellowships have been established in their names.

“It is especially fitting that we will honor them at Vanderbilt by establishing the Robert D. Collins Fellowship in Hematopathology and the David L. Page Fellowship in Surgical Pathology to perpetuate their legacies and commitment to the education of future generations of pathologists.”