January 12, 2007

Rad/Onc residents honored

Featured Image

Shari Barkin, M.D.

Radiation Oncology at Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center recently earned another top distinction, with five residents in the program awarded a spot in the Holman Research Training Pathways in Radiation Oncology program.

“It's pretty amazing. The majority of Radiation Oncology programs don't have a single trainee. We have more than any other University,” said Dennis Hallahan, M.D., chairman of the Radiation Oncology Center and Ingram Professor of Cancer Research at Vanderbilt-Ingram. “This acknowledgement to residents is highly competitive and awarded by the American Board of Radiology,” he added.

The program will provide residents with two years of bench research time during their clinical training, allowing residents to accelerate their research in radiation oncology.

The five Vanderbilt recipients are: David Sung-Wen Yu, M.D., Ph.D.; Shin-Hsin Eddy Yang, M.D., Ph.D.; Jerry Jaboin, M.D., Ph.D.; Roberto Diaz, M.D., Ph.D.; and Christopher Willey, M.D., Ph.D.