December 7, 2007

Radiology group lauds Patton

Featured Image

James Patton, Ph.D.

Radiology group lauds Patton

James Patton, Ph.D., professor of Radiology and Radiological Sciences, was recently presented the Marshall Brucer Award by the Southeastern Chapter of the Society of Nuclear Medicine (SNM) at its annual meeting in Atlanta.

Each year, the award, established in 1991, recognizes outstanding service to the chapter and contributions to the field of nuclear medicine. It is named after Marshall Brucer, M.D., (1913-1994), former chair of the medical division at the Oak Ridge Institute of Nuclear Studies and a driving force in establishing the Southeastern Chapter of the SNM.

Patton, also vice chair for Finance and Administration of Radiology and program director of Nuclear Medicine Technology, was pleased to receive the award named for the scientist considered the “father” of nuclear medicine.

“I am extremely honored to join a group of Nuclear Medicine professionals who I have respected for many years in receiving the Brucer Award. I presented by second formal research presentation at the annual meeting in 1970, and I sincerely appreciate the many interactions I have experienced with this organization for the past 37 years,” Patton said.

Patton, a Vanderbilt faculty member since 1972, has co-authored eight textbooks, 76 book chapters, 82 articles in journals and more than 50 articles in proceedings. He is currently president of the American Board of Science in Nuclear Medicine, is on the board of directors of the American Board of Science in Nuclear Medicine, is the SNM's representative on Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board and is a diplomate of the American Board of Radiology.

Patton also is a past-president of the Southeastern Chapter of the SNM and from 1998-2004 served as associate editor of the Journal of Nuclear Medicine.

The 16,000-member SNM is an international scientific and professional organization founded in 1954 to promote the science, technology and practical application of nuclear medicine and advocate for quality patient care, safety and research in molecular imaging and therapy.