January 21, 2005

Research teams awarded 2005 Discovery Grants

Featured Image

Allan Bass, M.D.

Four teams of investigators were awarded Vanderbilt University Medical Center Discovery Grants beginning this month. The recipient teams were chosen from 29 multi-investigator applications. A total of $392,919 was awarded to the recipients for the first year.

This year the program was cast as a multi-investigator seed fund. The applications were evaluated primarily on the likelihood that the project will be competitive for multi-investigator external funding, such as program project or center grants. The next round of applications will be accepted this fall.

Grants were awarded to:

• James E. Lloyd, M.D., professor of Medicine, “Finding a Pulmonary Fibrosis Gene.” Co-principal investigators are Joy D. Cogan, Ph.D. and William E. Lawson, M.D.

• Douglas S. Kernodle, M.D., associate professor of Medicine, “Microbial Antioxidants and Patterns of Host Response.” Co-principal investigators are Timothy S. Blackwell, M.D. and Spyros Kalams, M.D.

• James W. Thomas, M.D., professor of Medicine, “Development of an Autoreactive Human Immune System in Mice.” Co-principal investigators are Tom Aune, Ph.D. and Sebatian Joyce, Ph.D.

• Albert H. Beth, Ph.D., professor of Molecular Physiology & Biophysics, “ Protein Structures from Molecular Dynamics & SDSL EPR.” Co-principal investigators are Eric Hustedt, Ph.D., Terry P. Lybrand, Ph.D. and Jarrod A. Smith, Ph.D.