July 27, 2001

VUMC doctors chosen best in specialties

Featured Image

Dr. Gordon L. Jensen

Thirty-seven Vanderbilt physicians have been chosen by the peers as the best doctors in their specialties.

Basis of Castle Connolly selection process surveyed over 200,000 doctors, asking them to nominate the top people in related specialties. A group of 3,969 physicians was chosen from approximately 18,000 physicians nominated.

The Vanderbilt physicians selected include:

Dr. Mark Anderson, Cardiac Electrophysiology; Dr. Benjamin F. Byrd III and Dr. Rose Marie Robertson, Cardiology; Dr. Gerald M. Fenichel, Child Neurology; Dr. Alan Graber and Dr. Alvin C. Powers, Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism; Dr. Ellen B. Hunter, Dr. David S. Raiford, and Dr. Charles Sninsky, Gastroenterology;

Dr. Howard Wilbur Jones III, Gynecologic Oncology; Dr. Kenneth Hande, Dr. David Johnson, Dr. Bruce Joseph Roth, and Dr. Mace Rothenberg, Medical Oncology; Dr. Frank Henry Boehm and Dr. Steven G. Gabbe, Maternal and Fetal Medicine; Dr. Raymond C. Harris, Nephrology; Dr. Howard S. Kirshner, Neurology; Dr. Clarence Leon Partain and Dr. Martin P. Sandler, Nuclear Medicine;

Dr. James Donald Gass, Ophthalmology; Dr. Neil Edward Green, Dr. Dan M. Spengler, and Dr. Kurt Paul Spindler, Orthopaedic Surgery; Dr. Brian Burkey, Dr. Mark Sam Courey, and Dr. James Netterville, Otolaryngology; Dr. David L. Page, Pathology; Dr. Wallace W. Neblett, Pediatric Surgery; Dr. Kevin Francis Hagan, Plastic Surgery; Dr. Brian Wallace Christman and Dr. James Emory Loyd, Pulmonary Disease;

Dr. R. Daniel Beauchamp, Surgery; Dr. Walter H. Merrill and Dr. Richard Norris Pierson III, Thoracic Surgery; Dr. Douglas F. Milam and Dr. Joseph Smith, Urology.