January 23, 2009

VUSM faculty Awards nominations sought

Featured Image

Martha Hill, Ph.D., R.N., spoke as part of the School of Nursing’s yearlong Centennial Lecture Series. (photo by Dana Johnson)

VUSM faculty Awards nominations sought

Nominations are being sought for the 2009 School of Medicine Academic Enterprise Faculty Awards.

Award recipients are nominated by their faculty colleagues and selected by the School of Medicine Awards Committee. Each nomination package should include three to four supporting letters from colleagues, fellows, residents or students. A current curriculum vitae should be included as well.

The deadline for the Enterprise Faculty Award nominations is Jan. 31. The nomination package should be sent to the School of Medicine's Office of the Dean, in care of Andrea Whitman, D3300 Medical Center North.

The announcement of the awards will be made at the Spring Faculty Meeting in April.

The categories of recognition are listed below:

• The Sidney P. Colowick Award: Excellence in research that serves as a platform for discovery in diverse research areas.

• The William Darby Award: Translational research that provides significant advances in medical practice or health care services.

• The Ernest W. Goodpasture Award: An individual who has performed groundbreaking research on the pathogenesis of infectious diseases or biological problems in immunity.

• New award for leadership of a multi-investigator team (to be named).

• New Award for Research Enhancement (to be named).

• Elaine Sanders-Bush Award: Mentoring graduate and/or medical students in the research setting.

• F. Peter Guengerich Award: Mentoring postdoctoral fellows and/or residents in the research setting.

• Robert D. Collins Award: Teaching medical or graduate students or practicing physicians in the lecture setting.

• John S. Sergent Award: Teaching medical or graduate students or practicing physicians in a small group setting.

• R. Michael Rodriguez Award: Teaching medical students, residents, and/or fellows in the clinical setting.

• Gerald S. Gotterer Award: Innovation in educational programming that has proven to be effective.

• Frank H. Boehm Award for Excellence in Teaching: Contributions to Continuing Medical Education.