May 2, 2013

Awards given at Postdoctoral Research Symposium

(Photo by Susan Urmy)

Jennifer Noto, Ph.D., postdoctoral fellow in the lab of Richard Peek, M.D., receives the 2013 Postdoc of the Year award from Ann Price, M.D., associate dean for Alumni Affairs, during the 7th annual Postdoctoral Research and Shared Resources Symposium on Tuesday.

Rebecca Cook, Ph.D., assistant professor of Cancer Biology, and F. Peter (Fred) Guengerich, Ph.D., the Tadashi Inagami, Ph.D. Chair in Biochemistry, were named 2013 Mentors of the Year. Awards also were given to postdocs with the best posters in eight basic science categories, and to those whose projects made the best use of shared resources.

The annual symposium is sponsored by the Office of Biomedical Research Education and Training (BRET), the Postdoctoral Association, the Vanderbilt Medical Alumni Association, and the Office of Research. For more information about this year’s winners, contact Barbara Natalizio with the Postdoctoral Association at