Skip to main content

Nine faculty honored with endowed chairs

Jan. 24, 2014, 12:00 PM

L-r: Provost Richard McCarty; new endowed chair holders Alex Brown, Sheila Ridner, Lorrie Moore, Jeffrey Carr, Emilie Townes, Eric Johnson and James Crowe; Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs Jeff Balser; and new endowed chair holders Thomas Wang and David Penson. (Joe Howell/Vanderbilt)

Nine Vanderbilt University faculty members named to endowed chairs were honored for their academic achievements during a celebration Jan. 22 at the Student Life Center.

“One of the greatest assets we have (is) the incredibly talented faculty we attract,” Richard McCarty, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs, said in his introductory remarks. “The scholars we celebrate (today) have made significant and long-lasting contributions to human knowledge.

“At the same time, we also recognize extraordinary donors, who have been so generous in supporting Vanderbilt’s mission to attract and retain the finest faculty in this country and, indeed, the world,” he said.

Jeff Balser, vice chancellor for health affairs and dean of the School of Medicine, joined McCarty in introducing the new chair holders, who are:

This was the 12th celebration to honor faculty members who have been named to endowed chairs. Since the major university initiative to recruit and retain outstanding scholars and teachers was announced by Chancellor Nicholas S. Zeppos in August 2010, 123 chair holders have been recognized.

Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice