Skip to main content

Nominations sought for this year’s Vanderbilt Prize Scholar

Dec. 17, 2015, 9:56 AM

Nominations for this year’s Vanderbilt Prize Scholar are now being accepted. The deadline is Feb. 8, 2016.

Vanderbilt Prize Scholars are female graduate students in the biomedical sciences who are mentored by the winners of the Vanderbilt Prize in Biomedical Science.

This year’s scholar will be mentored by the 2015 Vanderbilt Prize recipient, Huda Zoghbi, M.D., an internationally known physician-scientist at Baylor College of Medicine, and director of the Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute at Texas Children’s Hospital in Houston.

The 2015 Vanderbilt Prize Scholar will be recognized during Zoghbi’s Flexner Discovery Lecture on April 21, 2016.

Vanderbilt Prize Scholars are women in the Ph.D. track in the School of Medicine (including Ph.D. and M.D./Ph.D. trainees) who have completed the qualifying exam and have at least one more year to complete the Ph.D. degree.

Nominations will be accepted from department chairs or program directors in the biomedical sciences, as well as directors of graduate studies and faculty mentors.

Winning nominees are those who demonstrate excellent leadership qualities through their research and service to the scientific community as well as characteristics that demonstrate outstanding potential to impact medicine through research during their careers.

Nominations should include a CV, statement from the faculty mentor/adviser, copy of thesis proposal and committee report from the qualifying examination.

Nomination materials may be submitted online to Jeanna Scholz in the office of Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Lawrence Marnett, Ph.D., until Feb. 8, 2016. For more information, contact Jeanna Scholz ( or 936-6228).

Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice