Skip to main content

Three faculty members elected to Association of American Physicians

May. 4, 2017, 8:44 AM

The Association of American Physicians (AAP) is an honorary medical society founded in 1885 by Sir William Osler and six other physicians for “the advancement of scientific and practical medicine.” This year, 60 additional physician scientists were elected to the association, including three Vanderbilt faculty members.

• Alvin Powers, M.D., is the Joe C. Davis Professor of Biomedical Sciences, professor of Medicine and of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, and director of the Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism.

• Thomas Wang, M.D., is the Gottlieb C. Friesinger II Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, professor of Medicine and director of the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

• Keith Wilson, M.D., is the Thomas F. Frist Sr. professor of Medicine, and professor of Cancer Biology and Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology.

According to the AAP website, “The association is composed of members who are leading senior physician scientists and are competitively selected. The goals of its members include the pursuit of medical knowledge, and the advancement through experimentation and discovery of basic and clinical science and their application to clinical medicine.”

The association has some 1,700 active members.

Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice