Skip to main content

Nominations for Vanderbilt Prize now being accepted

Oct. 27, 2022, 9:07 AM


by Bill Snyder

Nominations for the 2023 Vanderbilt Prize in Biomedical Science are now being accepted. The nomination deadline is Dec. 1.

Since 2006, the Vanderbilt Prize has recognized women scientists around the country who have “stellar” records of research accomplishments and who are known for their mentorship of other women in science.

Previous recipients include Nobel laureates Elizabeth Blackburn, PhD, and Jennifer Doudna, PhD, National Medal of Science recipient Nancy Andreasen, MD, PhD, and the 2022 winner, Ruth Lehmann, PhD, director of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Winners receive an honorarium, deliver a lecture at Vanderbilt University Medical Center and mentor the Vanderbilt Prize Student Scholar, a woman graduate student in the biomedical sciences at Vanderbilt.

Nomination packets must include a nomination form, a letter of nomination from the nominee’s department chair or dean, one letter of recommendation from a distinguished peer in basic or clinical research or clinical practice and a complete CV. Nominations of women from underrepresented populations are encouraged.

The nomination form can be downloaded from the award website:

For more information, email

Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice