April 20, 2007

Balser, Morrow inducted into Assoc. of American Physicians

Featured Image

Jeffrey Balser, M.D., Ph.D.

Balser, Morrow inducted into Assoc. of American Physicians

Jason Morrow, M.D.

Jason Morrow, M.D.

Two physicians from Vanderbilt University Medical Center have been inducted into one of the oldest and most storied medical societies — the Association of American Physicians (AAP).

During its annual dinner in Chicago on April 14, the AAP inducted 61 new members, including Jeffrey Balser, M.D., Ph.D., associate vice chancellor for Research, and Jason Morrow, M.D., director of the Division of Clinical Pharmacology.

The AAP was established in 1885 for the advancement of scientific and practical medicine.

Members are recognized for their pursuit of medical knowledge and the advancement through experimentation and discovery of basic and clinical science and its application to clinical medicine.

Balser is professor and former chair of Anesthesiology, professor of Pharmacology and of Medicine, and holder of the James Tayloe Gwathmey Physician-Scientist Chair. He joined the Vanderbilt faculty in 1998 and was named associate vice chancellor for Research in 2004.

Morrow is the F. Tremaine Billings Professor of Medicine and professor of Pharmacology. He joined the Vanderbilt faculty in 1994, and was named director of Clinical Pharmacology in 2005.

Since 1951, when the late William Darby, M.D., Ph.D., professor of Biochemistry Emeritus, was elected, 30 VUMC faculty members have been inducted into the society.