May 16, 2008

Four VMC physicians join ranks

Four VMC physicians join ranks

Four physicians from Vanderbilt University Medical Center have been elected into two of the nation's oldest and most storied medical societies — The American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) and the Association of American Physicians (AAP).

The ASCI inducted: Timothy Blackwell, M.D., associate professor of Medicine, Cell and Developmental Biology and Cancer Biology; and Douglas Sawyer, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor of Medicine.

The AAP inducted: Nancy Brown, M.D., professor of Medicine and Pharmacology and associate dean for Clinical and Translational Scientist Development; and James Loyd, M.D., professor of Pulmonary Medicine.

“It is always a superb honor when our faculty are elected to important national organizations devoted to the science in medicine,” said Eric Neilson, M.D., chair of the Department of Medicine.

“It is such moments when we can reflect on the important work our physician-scientists do in the name of patients.”

The ASCI, founded in 1908, has 2,600 physician-scientist members. Members are chosen based on their records of scholarly achievement in biomedical research.

The AAP was established in 1885 for the advancement of scientific and practical medicine. Members are recognized for their pursuit of medical knowledge and the advancement through experimentation and discovery of basic and clinical science and its application to clinical medicine.