April 15, 2005

Moses, Edwards garner University faculty awards

Featured Image

Chancellor Gordon Gee presents a faculty award to Kathryn Edwards, M.D.
photo by Neil Brake

Two Vanderbilt University Medical Center faculty members were honored at last week's 2005 Spring Faculty Assembly — Harold L. Moses, M.D., and Kathryn M. Edwards, M.D.

The opening presentation was given by John C. Gore, Chancellor's University Professor of Radiology and Radiological Science and Biomedical Engineering, who spoke on “New Horizons in Imaging Science at Vanderbilt.”

No Senate faculty amendments were on the agenda, so Chancellor Gordon Gee took the stage at the new Student Life Center's Commodore Ballroom to confer the faculty awards.

The Harvie Branscomb Distinguished Professor Award went to Harold Moses, M.D., Hortense B. Ingram Professor of Molecular Oncology and former director of the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center. Moses was giving a seminar in Florida and could not attend.

“It seems almost superfluous to give Hal Moses an award, or maybe the opposite: that even our giving him every award the university has power to bestow would not be honor enough,” Gee said.

“What Hal Moses has done with his life as a doctor is the best tribute to the power of a philosophy of service. We are so fortunate to have him continuing as an adviser and senior scientist at the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center. He is a credit to us.”

The Alexander Heard Distinguished Service Professor Award was presented to Kathryn Edwards, M.D., professor of Pediatric Infectious Diseases and vice chair of clinical research in the Department of Pediatrics.

“Dr. Edwards' scholarship focuses on the safety and immunogenicity of vaccines, and the study of vaccine-preventable diseases in children,” said Gee. “[She] devotes herself to improving the health of children not only through her own research and clinical attention, but also by enabling the work of others.”

Other faculty awards included:

• The Madison Sarratt Prize for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching was presented to Jo-Anne Bachorowski, associate professor of psychology.

• The Ellen Gregg Ingalls Award for Excellence in Classroom Teaching was presented to G. Kane Jennings, assistant professor of chemical engineering.

• The Joe B. Wyatt Distinguished University Professor Award was presented to Gary Jensen, professor of sociology and religious studies.