February 15, 2002

News Briefs

Featured Image

Dr. Arnold Strauss

Gabbe receives APGO award

Dr. Steven G. Gabbe, dean of Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, was recently selected to receive the 2002 Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics/Wyeth-Ayerst Career Achievement Award.

The $10,000 award enables recipients to address the continuing need for research and development in medical education within the specialty of obstetrics and gynecology.

Gabbe will be presented the award at the 2002 Council on Resident Education in Obstetrics and Gynecology and APGO annual meeting on March 8 in Dallas.

Gabbe will present his project, “A Program to Prevent Burnout in New Chairs of Obstetrics and Gynecology,” at the meeting.

Ossoff chosen to lead organization

Dr. Robert H. Ossoff, associate vice chancellor for Health Affairs and director of the Vanderbilt Bill Wilkerson Center, was elected vice president of the Southern Section of the Triological Society (The American Laryngological, Rhinological, and Otological Society, Inc.) at the recent annual meeting.

Ossoff, Guy M. Maness Professor and Chair of Otolaryngology, will preside over the 2003 annual meeting of the organization in January.

ENT residents make headlines

Two residents in the Department of Otolaryngology, Hearing and Speech Sciences won awards at the Southern Section Triological Society meeting in Florida recently.

Dr. Craig Benoit’s paper “Relationship Between Nasal Nitric Oxide Concentration and CT Scan Findings in Patients with Symptoms of Rhinosinusitis” was selected for the prestigious Lester A. Brown Award. Benoit is in his fifth year of residency.

Dr. Brian Moore, in conjunction with Dr. David Haynes, assistant professor of Otolaryngology, won first place in the outstanding poster award for “Digital Microphotography: A Simple solution.”

Moore is a fourth-year resident.