June 25, 2004

Ossoff to head American Laryngological Association

Featured Image

Robert H. Ossoff, M.D.

Robert H. Ossoff, M.D., associate vice chancellor for Health Affairs was inducted as the 126th president of the American Laryngological Association (ALA) at its recent annual meeting in Phoenix.

In addition to being elected president of the ALA, Ossoff was presented with the prestigious deRoaldes Medal at the meeting.

Established in 1907, the deRoaldes Award is given to an individual in recognition of outstanding accomplishments in the field of Laryngology and Rhinology.

Ossoff became an active fellow in 1990 through nomination and election by his peers. He was elected to the council, the governing body of the ALA, in 1996 to the position of councilor-at-large followed by a five-year tenure as secretary.

He is the first Vanderbilt faculty member to serve as president of the association.

“I am extremely honored that my ALA colleagues have bestowed upon me the privilege to serve as president of this association that has so many talented otolaryngologists and laryngologists,” he said.

The American Laryngological Association was founded in 1878 as a scholarly organization of Otolaryngologists – Head and Neck Surgeons and Scientists who have made significant contributions to and continue to promote the advancement of knowledge in the field of laryngology, nationally and internationally.

The current membership numbers 251, including 126 Active Fellows (maximum 150), 51 Corresponding Fellows, 66 Emeritus Fellows, six Honorary Fellows, and two Associate Fellows from the specialty of otolaryngology — head and neck surgery and related fields.

Ossoff is the Guy M. Maness Professor and Chairman of the department of Otolaryngology, and is director of the Vanderbilt Bill Wilkerson Center for Otolaryngology and Communication Sciences.