May 4, 2007

Price lauded for mentorship by VUMC postdoc association

Featured Image

Ronald Price, Ph.D.

Price lauded for mentorship by VUMC postdoc association

Ronald R. Price, Ph.D., director of the Section of Radiological Sciences at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, has been awarded the first Mentor of the Year Award by the VUMC Postdoc Association.

Price was honored for his ability to build and mentor multidisciplinary teams in the field of cancer imaging, and for his dedication, compassion, integrity and excitement for science.

The award was presented recently during the first annual Postdoc Spring Poster Symposium. Sixty postdoctoral fellows, representing most VUMC departments, presented cutting-edge research data.

Posters by Keith Choe, Ph.D., (Cell Biology) and Rebecca Sappington, Ph.D., (Neurology) were judged “best in show” by a faculty committee.

Other winners, listed by subject and place, were:

• Animal Models — Martin Moore, Ph.D., (first), Fiona Harrison, Ph.D., (second) and Holly Algood, Ph.D., (third);

• Biochemistry — Dewight Williams, Ph.D., (first), Robert Eoff, Ph.D., (second) and Manish Tripathi, Ph.D., (third);

• Cancer — Srividya Bhaskara, Ph.D., (first), Michael Dohn, Ph.D., (second) and Xiao Li, Ph.D., (third);

• Cell Biology — Anita Austin, Ph.D., (second) and Ken Gagnon, Ph.D., (third);

• Neurology — Julie Koh, Ph.D., (second) and Sam Crish, Ph.D., (third); and

• Signaling — Anton Matafonov, M.D., (first), Catherine Lorin-Nebel, Ph.D., (second) and Ning Wang, Ph.D., (third).

The Vanderbilt Medical Alumni Association provided refreshments. Prize money for the winning posters was donated by BioMimetic Therapeutics Inc., Cumberland Pharmaceuticals and Sigma-Aldrich.