December 21, 2007

Surgical association names O’Neill president

Featured Image

James O'Neill Jr., M.D.

Surgical association names O’Neill president

James O'Neill Jr., M.D., was named president of the Southern Surgical Association at its recent annual meeting in Hot Springs, Va.

O'Neill, the J.C. Foshee Distinguished Professor of Surgery, Emeritus, will serve as president for one year, and an additional five years on the association's governing council.

“Beyond what this honor personally means to me, it's a very nice thing for Vanderbilt to be recognized for its excellence in surgery,” O'Neill said.

Past presidents of the association from Vanderbilt include former Surgery chairs Barney Brooks, M.D., H. William Scott, M.D., and John Sawyers, M.D.