May 20, 2005

Surgical society inducts two

Featured Image

Melinda Sanders, M.D.

The nation's oldest and most prestigious surgical organization, the American Surgical Association, recently inducted two members of the Vanderbilt faculty: Kenneth W. Sharp, M.D., professor of Surgery and chief of the Division of General Surgery, and Steven C. Stain, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Surgery at Meharry Medical College and professor of Surgery at Vanderbilt.

The ASA elects about 35 new members in a typical year and the current world membership stands at approximately 1,250. Nominees are elected to the organization based on research achievements and their record of leadership.

Vanderbilt's total representation in the organization now comes to nine members, with previous inductees including Naji N. Abumrad, M.D.; R. Daniel Beauchamp, M.D.; John B. Lynch, M.D.; John A. Morris Jr., M.D.; James A. O'Neill Jr., M.D.; C. Wright Pinson, M.D.; and William O. Richards, M.D.

According to the ASA, “The primary mission of the Association is to be the premier organization for surgical science and scholarship and to provide a national forum for presenting the developing state of the art and science of general and sub-specialty surgery and the elevation of the standards of the medical/surgical profession.”