April 19, 2002

VUMC doctors elected to national medical societies

Four Vanderbilt University Medical Center physicians have been elected into two of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious medical societies — The American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) and the Association of American Physicians (AAP).

AAP inductees were Dr. Matthew D. Breyer, professor of Medicine; Dr. Robert L. Macdonald, professor of Neurology, Pharmacology, and Molecular Physiology and Biophysics; and Dr. Alastair J.J. Wood, professor of Medicine and Pharmacology. Dr. Mark E. Anderson, associate professor of Medicine and Pharmacology, was inducted into the ASCI.

The ASCI, founded in 1908, has 2,600 physician-scientist members. Members are chosen based on their records of scholarly achievement in biomedical research.

The AAP was established in 1885 for the advancement of scientific and practical medicine. Members are recognized for their pursuit of medical knowledge and the advancement through experimentation and discovery of basic and clinical science and its application to clinical medicine. “Vanderbilt has had a superb record of getting its faculty elected to these two important organization,” said Dr. Eric G. Neilson, Hugh Jackson Morgan Professor and Chairman of the Department of Medicine. “Faculty involvement in these societies enriches our contribution to the science in medicine and advances the visibility and growth of our institution.”