Skip to main content

VUMC’s Arteaga named a fellow of the AACR Academy

Feb. 26, 2015, 9:43 AM

Carlos L. Arteaga, M.D., director of the Center for Cancer Targeted Therapies and director of the Breast Cancer Program at Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center (VICC), has been named a fellow of the AACR Academy. He is among 11 new fellows announced by the American Association for Cancer Research, the largest international cancer organization dedicated to cancer research.

Carlos L. Arteaga, M.D.

“I am deeply appreciative of this honor and grateful to be included in this internationally recognized group of cancer investigators,” said Arteaga, who is also the Donna S. Hall Professor of Breast Cancer and associate director for Clinical Research at VICC. “I have dedicated my academic life to cancer research and am enormously thankful of being recognized by my peers.”

The AACR Academy serves to recognize and honor scientists whose contributions have propelled significant innovation and progress against cancer. All fellows are nominated and elected through a peer-review process conducted by existing fellows of the AACR Academy and ratified by the AACR Executive Committee. This process involves an assessment of each candidate on the basis of his or her scientific achievements in cancer research and cancer-related biomedical science.

AACR leaders describe the academy as a brain trust of global leaders in cancer research that is providing invaluable insights into the future of cancer research and patient care.

“Our 2015 class of fellows includes 11 luminaries in the field of cancer research, in honor of the 11 founders of the AACR in 1907. We are delighted to recognize the incredible scientific accomplishments of these illustrious researchers and celebrate how their dedicated efforts have helped accelerate the pace of progress against many of the hundreds of diseases we collectively call cancer,” said Margaret Foti, M.D., Ph.D., chief executive officer of the AACR.

The AACR will formally induct its 2015 class of elected fellows at the group’s annual meeting in Philadelphia in April.

Arteaga is leader of the NCI-funded Breast Cancer Specialized Program of Research Excellence (SPORE) at VICC and is currently serving as president of the AACR.

He has received many honors and awards, including the AACR-Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award, the American Cancer Society Clinical Research Professor Award, the Gianni Bonadonna Award from the American Society of Clinical Oncology, and the Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction from the Susan G. Komen for the Cure foundation. He is an elected member of the Association of American Physicians and the American Society for Clinical Investigation.

Arteaga received his medical degree in 1980 from the Facultad de Ciencias Médicas at the Universidad de Guayaquil in Ecuador. Following an internal medicine residency at Emory University in Atlanta, Arteaga completed a fellowship in medical oncology at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He joined the faculty at Vanderbilt University in 1989.

Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice