Skip to main content

Nominations sought for Vanderbilt Prize in Biomedical Science

Jan. 12, 2017, 8:38 AM

Nominations for the 2017 Vanderbilt Prize in Biomedical Science are now being accepted. The deadline is March 31.

Since 2006, the Vanderbilt Prize has recognized women scientists around the country who have “stellar” records of research accomplishments and who are known for their mentorship of other women in science.

Previous award winners include Nobel laureate Elizabeth Blackburn, Ph.D. (University of California, San Francisco); National Medal of Science winners Nancy Andreasen, M.D., Ph.D. (University of Iowa), Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D. (Rockefeller University), and Ann Graybiel, Ph.D. (MIT); and Laurie Glimcher, M.D., president and CEO of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.

Winners receive a $25,000 cash award, deliver a lecture at Vanderbilt University Medical Center and mentor a Vanderbilt Prize Scholar, a woman graduate student in the biomedical sciences at Vanderbilt.

Nomination packets for the 2017 Vanderbilt Prize must be e-mailed to Megan Smallwood in the Office of Research at

Packets must include a 2017 nomination form, a letter of nomination from the nominee’s department chair or dean, one letter of recommendation from a distinguished peer in basic or clinical research or in clinical practice and a complete CV (curriculum vitae).

The nomination form can be downloaded from the award website:

For more information, contact Megan Smallwood at the e-mail address above or call 615-875-7529.

Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice