Skip to main content

VUMC achieves EMRAM Stage 6 certification from HIMSS

Jan. 18, 2021, 9:47 AM


VUMC has once again achieved Electronic Medical Record Adoption Model (EMRAM) Stage 6 certification from the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS).

The EMRAM model incorporates methodology and algorithms to automatically score hospitals around the world relative to their Electronic Medical Records (EMR) capabilities and measures the adoption and utilization of EMR functions. The multi-stage model harnesses technology to support optimized patient care, reduce medication errors, improve operational throughput and achieve a near-paperless environment.

The designation of EMRAM Stage 6 demonstrates VUMC:

  • Is successfully using technology
  • Has successfully established rules and protocols around data security
  • Has implemented proper policies

Through this achievement, VUMC has proven it recognizes the importance of information and technology in health care and is successfully establishing a foundation upon which it can build toward a future of improved care quality, safety and efficiency.

HIMSS is a global advisor and thought leader supporting the transformation of the health ecosystem through information and technology.  As a mission-driven non-profit, HIMSS offers a unique depth and breadth of expertise in health innovation, public policy, workforce development, research, and analytics to global leaders, stakeholders and influencers on best practices in health information and technology.

Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice