Skip to main content

Spring Faculty Assembly set for May 19

Feb. 24, 2023, 10:24 AM

The School of Medicine’s Spring Faculty Assembly will be noon-1:30 p.m. May 19, in 208 Light Hall.

Jeff Balser, MD, PhD, President and Chief Executive Officer of VUMC and Dean of Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, will give his annual address to faculty to start the event, followed by faculty awards. The following awards are presented in odd years, and awards marked with an asterisk are new this year.

Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Frank H. Boehm, M.D., Award – For Contributions to Continuing Medical Education

Gerald S. Gotterer, M.D., Ph.D., Award – For Innovation in Educational Programming that has Proven to be Effective

Peter Guengerich, Ph.D., Award – For Mentoring Postdoctoral Fellows or Residents in the Research Setting

Thomas A. Hazinski, M.D., Award – For Effectiveness in Mentoring and Professional Development of Faculty

*Bonnie M. Miller, MD, AwardFor Innovation in Undergraduate Medical Education

John S. Sergent, MD, AwardFor Teaching Medical or Graduate Students in the Small Group Setting


Extraordinary Performance of Clinical Service

Gottlieb C. Friesinger, II, MD, AwardFor an Outstanding Early Career Clinician

Thomas P. Graham, Jr, MD, AwardFor Dedicated Service to Patient-Centered Care

Noel B. Tulipan, MD, AwardFor Clinical Excellence in a Surgical or Procedural Discipline

*Arthur P. “Art” Wheeler, MD, AwardFor Clinical Excellence in the Delivery of Critical Care


Outstanding Contributions to Research

Richard M. Caprioli, PhD, AwardFor Development, Implementation, and/or Creation of Technology that Elevates the Research and Science of Multiple Investigators

Sidney P. Colowick, PhD, AwardFor Research that Serves as a Platform for Discovery in Diverse Areas

William J. Darby, MD, PhD, ScD, AwardFor Translational Research that has Changed the Practice of Medicine Worldwide

Ernest W. Goodpasture, MD, AwardFor Groundbreaking Research that Addresses the Pathogenesis of Disease at the Cellular and/or Molecular Level

*Lee E. Limbird, PhD, AwardFor Innovation in Research Infrastructure That Facilitates Multiple Investigators

John A. Oates, MD, AwardFor Two or More Faculty Working Collaboratively or in a Multidisciplinary Manner to Address Important Biological Processes and/or Diseases




Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice