March 2, 2023

Medical School Spring Faculty Assembly set for May 19

Vanderbilt University School of Medicine’s Spring Faculty Assembly will be noon-1:30 p.m. on May 19 in 208 Light Hall.

Vanderbilt University School of Medicine’s Spring Faculty Assembly will be noon-1:30 p.m. on May 19 in 208 Light Hall.

Jeff Balser, MD, PhD, President and Chief Executive Officer of Vanderbilt University Medical Center and Dean of the School of Medicine, will give his annual address to faculty to start the event, followed by faculty awards. The following awards are presented in odd years, and awards marked with an asterisk are new this year.


Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Frank H. Boehm, MD, Award — For Contributions to Continuing Medical Education.

Gerald S. Gotterer, MD, PhD, Award — For Innovation in Educational Programming that has Proven to be Effective.

Peter Guengerich, PhD, Award — For Mentoring Postdoctoral Fellows or Residents in the Research Setting.

Thomas A. Hazinski, MD, Award — For Effectiveness in Mentoring and Professional Development of Faculty.

*Bonnie M. Miller, MD, Award — For Innovation in Undergraduate Medical Education.

John S. Sergent, MD, Award — For Teaching Medical or Graduate Students in the Small Group Setting.


Extraordinary Performance of Clinical Service

Gottlieb C. Friesinger, II, MD, Award — For an Outstanding Early Career Clinician.

Thomas P. Graham, Jr, MD, Award — For Dedicated Service to Patient-Centered Care.

Noel B. Tulipan, MD, Award — For Clinical Excellence in a Surgical or Procedural Discipline.

*Arthur P. “Art” Wheeler, MD, Award — For Clinical Excellence in the Delivery of Critical Care.


Outstanding Contributions to Research

Richard M. Caprioli, PhD, Award — For Development, Implementation, and/or Creation of Technology that Elevates the Research and Science of Multiple Investigators.

Sidney P. Colowick, PhD, Award — For Research that Serves as a Platform for Discovery in Diverse Areas.

William J. Darby, MD, PhD, ScD, Award — For Translational Research that has Changed the Practice of Medicine Worldwide.

Ernest W. Goodpasture, MD, Award — For Groundbreaking Research that Addresses the Pathogenesis of Disease at the Cellular and/or Molecular Level.

*Lee E. Limbird, PhD, Award — For Innovation in Research Infrastructure That Facilitates Multiple Investigators.

John A. Oates, MD, Award — For Two or More Faculty Working Collaboratively or in a Multidisciplinary Manner to Address Important Biological Processes and/or Diseases.