Skip to main content

Gaelyn Garrett receives James E. Newcomb MD Award from the American Laryngological Association

Jul. 10, 2023, 9:24 AM

Gaelyn Garrett, MD, MMHC

by Danny Bonvissuto

Gaelyn Garrett, MD, MMHC, Guy M. Maness Professor of Laryngology and Voice, professor of Otolaryngology — Head and Neck Surgery, and medical director of the Vanderbilt Voice Center, received the James E. Newcomb MD Award from the American Laryngological Association’s (ALA) 144th annual meeting in Boston.

“Being recognized by your peers for doing what you love is quite special,” Garrett said. “Receiving an award that your mentors have also received in the past represents their successes as well.”

Established in 1939 in memory of Newcomb, who served as secretary of the ALA from 1900 to 1910 and as president in 1911, the award is given annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to the literature of laryngology and service to the association. Garrett was inducted as an active fellow in 2002 and has served the ALA’s council as an editor, secretary, vice-president, president-elect and president, in addition to several committees.

“Dr. Garrett has been a mentor and role model to generations of laryngologists and trainees. She’s demonstrated the value of collaborative and cooperative research and has worked with innumerable co-authors while emphasizing team building in her research and clinical efforts,” said Lee Akst, MD, chairperson of the Newcomb Award committee and director of the Johns Hopkins Voice Center.

“Dr. Garrett has and continues to achieve these milestones while serving as a leader in many national Otolaryngology associations – including her term as President of the ALA in 2013. All of this makes her wonderfully deserving of this year’s Newcomb Award.”

Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice