Reporter Aug 30 2019

Bailey to direct general surgery residency program

Christina Bailey, MD, MSCI, assistant professor of Surgery, has been named the new program director of the general surgery residency training program in the Department of Surgery, Section of Surgical Sciences.

Slovis to step down from top Emergency Medicine role

After serving more than 27 years as Vanderbilt University Medical Center’s chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine, Corey M. Slovis, MD, has decided to step down.

New tool helps predict patients’ opioid needs after cesarean section

Most women who undergo a cesarean section are sent home with more opioids than they need, but a significant proportion of women use all opioids and report unmet pain needs, according to Sarah Osmundson, MD, MS, assistant professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Monroe Carell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt patients Cooper Cook (center, left) and Grace Hamilton (right) give CMA and CMA Foundation board members a tour of CMA’s newly named space within the hospital’s expansion.

CMA-supported space debuts at Children’s Hospital

Members of the country music industry came together to celebrate the newly opened 10th floor of Monroe Carell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt. The space was made possible, in part, through significant support from the Country Music Association (CMA).

Diamond named TNAAP Pediatrician of the Year

Alex Diamond, DO, MPH, has many titles and serves in multiple roles — associate professor of Pediatrics and Orthopedic Surgery, director of the Program for Injury Prevention in Youth Sports (PIPYS) and team physician for Vanderbilt University, the Nashville Predators and the Nashville Sounds.

Recipients of the 2019 Dean’s Award for Exceptional Achievement in Graduate Studies are (front row, from left) Margaret Axelrod, Abigail Neininger, Alejandra Romero-Morales, Sheryl Vermudez, Demond Williams, and (back row, from left) James O’Connor, Manuel Castro, Matthew Cottam, Matthew Wleklinski, Michael Doyle and Azadeh Hadadianpour.

Exceptional graduate students honored with Dean’s Award

Eleven graduate students entering their fourth year of training have received the Dean’s Award for Exceptional Achievement in Graduate Studies.

1 2