Skip to main content

VEI honored by American Academy of Ophthalmology

Feb. 18, 2016, 10:22 AM

At the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology annual meeting were, from left, David Parke, M.D., CEO, American Academy of Ophthalmology; Steven Feldon, M.D., executive director, Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology; Vanderbilt’s Janice Law, M.D., and Paul Sternberg Jr., M.D.; Julia Haller, M.D., president, Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology and director, Wills Eye Institute, Philadelphia; and Kurt Heitman, M.D., Secretary for State Affairs, American Academy of Ophthalmology.

The Vanderbilt Eye Institute (VEI) was recently awarded the Commitment to Advocacy Award during the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology (AUPO) annual meeting.

The award, issued by the American Academy of Ophthalmology’s (AAO) Secretary for State Affairs, recognizes the training program and leadership of VEI for support of the AAO’s Advocacy Ambassador Program.

Vanderbilt is the second recipient of the award, which was first presented in 2014.

The Advocacy Ambassador Program works to engage/educate members in training (residents and those undergoing fellowship training) early on about the importance of advocating for patients and their profession through assisting their attendance at the AAO’s Mid-Year Forum and active involvement in legislative issues at the state level, including visits with legislators at the State House.

Recent Stories from VUMC News and Communications Publications

Vanderbilt Medicine
VUMC Voice