June 7, 2019

Dmochowski Receives AUA’s Victor A. Politano Award

VUMC’s Dmochowski Receives AUA’s Victor A. Politano Award

(left to right) Joel Sheinfeld, MD, Roger Dmochowski, MD, with award, Harris Nagler, MD, and Robert Flanigan, MD. Photo courtesy of the American Urological Association.

Roger Dmochowski, MD, MMHC, professor of Urology and Gynecology at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, received the 2019 Victor A. Politano Award from the American Urological Association (AUA) for his outstanding contributions to female pelvic medicine, the science of urodynamics and neuro-urology and surgical techniques for genitourinary reconstruction.


The Victor A. Politano Award is presented annually to an individual (e.g. urologist, basic scientist, researcher, biomedical engineer, etc.) for outstanding research and work in the field of urinary incontinence and for enhancing the treatment of incontinent patients, thereby helping to improve their quality of life.


“Roger is truly a visionary who is one of the founders of the subspecialty of female pelvic medicine and reconstructive surgery. He is respected worldwide by urologists and gynecologists alike. He is so deserving of this great honor,” said David Penson, MD, Paul V. Hamilton, M.D. and Virginia E. Howd Professor of Urologic Oncology at VUMC.

Politano, chairman of urology at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine from 1972–1990, was known for developing the Politano-Leadbetter technique to correct vesicoureteral reflux. He received numerous awards during his career, including the AUA’s Ramon Guiteras Award (2003) and the Pediatric Urology Medal (1996). He served as AUA President in 1984.

The Award is endowed by a trust fund established by Dr. & Mrs. Politano and the Applebaum Foundation.